External Email - Use Caution        

Thanks, Bruce.

Actually, I am comparing the volume computations between different segmentation tools. In some software's paper, they mentioned there is a slight difference in protocol from Freesurfer and thus not easy to compare. I am wondering what the difference lies in, for example, in the way a structure is defined anatomically, or something else? 

I am new to this field, and don't know if my question is clear to you.

Thanks again.

On Tue, Aug 30, 2022 at 1:29 PM Fischl, Bruce <BFISCHL@mgh.harvard.edu> wrote:

Hi Ruifeng

 

I think they are similar, but you would have to ask Neuromorphometrics about the differences. Our protocol was published in the Neuron 2002 paper and the papers it cites, which I think is also where the Neuromorphometrics’ protocol came from

 

Cheers

Bruce

 

From: freesurfer-bounces@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu <freesurfer-bounces@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu> On Behalf Of Ruifeng Dong
Sent: Tuesday, August 30, 2022 11:07 AM
To: Freesurfer support list <freesurfer@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu>
Subject: [Freesurfer] Segmentation protocol used by Freesurfer

 

        External Email - Use Caution        

Is Freesurfer using Neuromorphometrics’ General Segmentation Protocol, or something different?

 

What are the differences between different protocols?

 

Thanks!

 

Ruifeng

 

_______________________________________________
Freesurfer mailing list
Freesurfer@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu
MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "secure-web.cisco.com" claiming to be https://mail.nmr.mgh.harvard.edu/mailman/listinfo/freesurfer
The information in this e-mail is intended only for the person to whom it is addressed.  If you believe this e-mail was sent to you in error and the e-mail contains patient information, please contact the Mass General Brigham Compliance HelpLine at MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "secure-web.cisco.com" claiming to be https://www.massgeneralbrigham.org/complianceline <MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "secure-web.cisco.com" claiming to be https://www.massgeneralbrigham.org/complianceline> .